Ag Policy Blog

Ag Committees Detail New Farm Bill Hearings

Chris Clayton
By  Chris Clayton , DTN Ag Policy Editor
Connect with Chris:

The Senate and House Agriculture Committees are continuing to hold hearings in their quest to put a farm bill on the congressional agenda before the end of 2018.

Senate Agriculture Committee Chairman Pat Roberts, R-Kansas, released a list of those testifying at his field hearing Thursday in his home state. It's a Kansas affair.

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Pat Roberts, R-Kan., Chairman of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, today announced witnesses for the Committee’s first field hearing of the 115th Congress in Manhattan, Kan., on the upcoming Farm Bill reauthorization.

Welcome Panel:

General Richard Myers, President, Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kan.

The Honorable Roger Marshall, M.D., Congressman, U.S. House of Representatives, Washington, D.C.

The Honorable Jackie McClaskey, Secretary, Kansas Department of Agriculture, Manhattan, Kan.

Panel I:

Mr. David Clawson, the Clawson Ranch Partnership, Plains, Kan., representing Kansas Livestock Association

Mrs. Lynda Foster, Foster Dairy, Fort Scott, Kan., representing Dairy Farmers of America

Mrs. Amy France, France Family Farms, Marienthal, Kan., representing Kansas Farm Bureau

Mr. Lucas Heinen, Heinen Family Farms, Everest, Kan., representing Kansas Soybean Association

Mr. Tom Lahey, Tom Lahey Farms, Moscow, Kan., representing Kansas Cotton Association

Mr. Kent Moore, Moore Farms, Iuka, Kan., representing Kansas Corn Growers Association

Mr. Cameron Peirce, Peirce Farms, Hutchinson, Kan., representing Kansas Sunflower Commission

Mr. Michael Springer, Springer Family Foods, LLC, Independence, Kan., representing Kansas Pork Association

Mr. Kent Winter, Kent Winter Farm, Mt. Hope, Kan., representing Kansas Grain Sorghum Producers

Mr. Kenneth Wood, Riverside Stock Farm, Inc., Manhattan, Kan., representing Kansas Association of Wheat Growers

Panel II:

Mr. Shan Hanes, President & CEO, First National Bank of Elkhart, Elkhart, Kan., representing Kansas Bankers Association

Ms. Catherine Moyer, General Manager, Pioneer Communications, Ulysses, Kan., representing NTCA: The Rural Broadband Association

Ms. Kathleen O'Brien, General Manager, Nemaha-Marshall Electric Cooperative, Axtell, Kan., representing Kansas Electric Cooperative

Mrs. Gena Ott, Financial Officer, Frontier Farm Credit, Emporia, Kan., representing Frontier Farm Credit

Mr. Derek Peine, Chairman of the Board, Renew Kansas, Oakley, Kan., representing Kansas Grain and Feed Association

Mr. Greg Ruehle, President & CEO, Servi-tech, Inc., Dodge City, Kan., representing Kansas Cooperative Council

Mr. Clay Scott, Kansas Water Congress, Ulysses, Kan., representing the National Water Resources Association

Mrs. Cherise Tieben, City Manager, Dodge City, Kan., representing Dodge City

The hearing, which starts at 2 p.m. Central, will be webcast live on

In the House:

The House Agriculture Committee set a pair of subcommittee hearings at Capitol on Tuesday at 10 a.m. and 2

The Subcommittee on Conservation and Forestry will look at conservation policy while the Subcommittee on Livestock and Foreign Agriculture will look at international market development.

In a related matter, the organizers of Commodity Classic announced Monday that House Agriculture Committee Chairman Michael Conaway, R-Texas, will be the keynote speaker at Commodity Classic on Friday, March 3 at the event in San Antonio.

“We are very pleased that Congressman Conaway has agreed to address Commodity Classic attendees,” said Ed Erickson, Jr., a North Dakota soybean farmer and co-chair of the 2017 Commodity Classic. “With the change in administration in Washington, DC, the next Farm Bill due for debate, and discussions on international trade policy, the farmers attending Commodity Classic will be very interested to hear from one of the nation’s ag policy leaders on a wide range of issues.”

Chris Clayton can be reached at

Follow him on Twitter @ChrisClaytonDTN


To comment, please Log In or Join our Community .