Ag Policy Blog

Conaway Announces GOP House Ag Members

Jerry Hagstrom
By  Jerry Hagstrom , DTN Political Correspondent

House Agriculture Committee ranking member Michael Conaway, R-Texas, has announced the names of the Republican members of the House Agriculture Committee for the 116th Congress.

Rep. Jodey Arrington, R-Texas, has left the House Agriculture Committee in addition to four other re-elected Republicans.

The others are former House Agriculture Committee Chairman Frank Lucas, R-Okla., Rep. Mike Rogers, R-Ala., Rep. Bob Gibbs, R-Ohio and Rep. Steve King, R-Iowa.

In a statement released by his office, Lucas said he is taking “a temporary leave of absence” but will return to the committee for the next farm bill, the Food and Environment Reporting Network said.

“With the 2018 farm bill completed for the next five years and my new leadership role as ranking member of the Science, Space, and Technology Committee, I am taking a temporary leave of absence from the House Agriculture Committee,” Lucas said.

“Just as I have been a part of five farm bills and authored the 2014 farm bill, I will return to the Agriculture Committee when we begin consideration of the next farm bill. I look forward to continuing my efforts on behalf of agriculture and rural America.”

The new House Agriculture Committee members are:

Rep. Dusty Johnson, South Dakota At Large

Rep. Jim Baird, Indiana District 4

Rep. Jim Hagedorn, Minnesota District 1

Below is the complete House Agriculture Committee Republican roster of 21 members for the 116th Congress:

Ranking Member K. Michael Conaway, Texas District 11

Rep. Glenn ‘GT’ Thompson, Pennsylvania District 15

Rep. Austin Scott, Georgia District 8

Rep. Rick Crawford, Arkansas District 1

Rep. Scott DesJarlais, Tennessee District 4

Rep. Vicky Hartzler, Missouri District 4

Rep. Doug LaMalfa, California District 1

Rep. Rodney Davis, Illinois District 13

Rep. Ted Yoho, Florida District 3

Rep. Rick Allen, Georgia District 12

Rep. Mike Bost, Illinois District 12

Rep. David Rouzer, North Carolina District 7

Rep. Ralph Abraham, Louisiana District 5

Rep. Trent Kelly, Mississippi District 1

Rep. James Comer, Kentucky District 1

Rep. Roger Marshall, Kansas District 1

Rep. Don Bacon, Nebraska District 2

Rep. Neal Dunn, Florida District 2

Rep. Dusty Johnson, South Dakota At Large

Rep. Jim Baird, Indiana District 4

Rep. Jim Hagedorn, Minnesota District 1

In the release, Conaway said, “After successful completion of the 2018 farm bill, I’m pleased to have a great group of new and returning members on the Agriculture Committee who will continue the work of restoring prosperity to our nation’s farmers and ranchers and all of rural America. We have a great deal of work to do, including implementing and protecting the new farm bill, continuing to press for a rollback of harmful regulations that hurt our farmers and ranchers, and leveling the global playing field to create more market access for U.S. agriculture products. I’m confident in the team we have assembled, and I look forward to working alongside my new colleagues in championing rural America and our country’s farm and ranch families.”


To comment, please Log In or Join our Community .