Ag Policy Blog

New Democrats Added to House Ag Committee

Chris Clayton
By  Chris Clayton , DTN Ag Policy Editor
Connect with Chris:

After Iowa Rep. Steve King, R-Iowa, was stripped of his committee assignments earlier this week, Iowa agriculture groups lamented in a Des Moines Register article that Iowa had maintained a member of the House Agriculture Committee going back 120 years.…

The lack of Iowans on the Ag Committee lasted roughly a day as House Speaker Nancy Pelosi recommended members for Agriculture, Financial Services, Foreign Affairs, Transportation and Infrastructure, and Veterans' Affairs Committees for the new Congress.

The list announced for the Agriculture Committee is not the full list, but a mix of new and veteran lawmakers who will be joining or rejoining the committee this session. The full list of committee members will be released soon.

Among the new members is Rep. Cindy Axne, D-Iowa, who was elected to represent Southwest Iowa.

Agriculture Committee:

Congresswoman Cindy Axne of Iowa

Congressman Anthony Brindisi of New York

Congresswoman Cheri Bustos of Illinois

Congressman Salud Carbajal of California

Congressman TJ Cox of California

Congresswoman Angie Craig of Minnesota

Congressman Antonio Delgado of New York

Congressman Josh Harder of California

Congresswoman Jahana Hayes of Connecticut

Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick of Arizona

Congressman Al Lawson of Florida

Congressman Tom O’Halleran of Arizona

Congressman Jimmy Panetta of California

Congresswoman Chellie Pingree of Maine

Congresswoman Kim Schrier of Washington

Congresswoman Abigail Spanberger of Virginia

Congressman Jeff Van Drew of New Jersey

One list not released yet would be new Democrats added to the House Energy and Commerce Committee. The significance there is E&C oversees biofuel policies.

Democratic members added to other committees released so far can be viewed at…

Chris Clayton can be reached at

Follow him on Twitter @ChrisClaytonDTN


To comment, please Log In or Join our Community .