NCGA Yield Contest

Corn Grower Hits 477 BPA in National Corn Yield Contest

Emily Unglesbee
By  Emily Unglesbee , DTN Staff Reporter
Connect with Emily:
The NCGA released the results of its 2018 National Corn Yield Contest, which boasted a top yield of 477.7 bpa. (DTN file photo)

ROCKVILLE, Md. (DTN) -- Once again, the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) has announced some eye-popping yield numbers from its annual National Corn Yield Contest.

This year, Don Stall, of Charlotte, Michigan, topped the contest with a yield of 477.7 bushels per acre (bpa) with an irrigated cornfield.

Stall is no novice to the contest. Last year, he placed first in the irrigated corn category, with a 407.2-bpa yield, but faced some historic competition -- David Hula of Charles City, Virginia, who set a world record for high corn yield with his 542-bpa field in the 2017 contest.

The contest, which is in its 54th year, divides national winners into six categories, with three winners in each. This year, those 18 winners averaged more than 349 bpa, nearly double USDA's projected 2018 national average corn yield of 178.9 bpa.

Contest organizers noted that "weather-related adversity" was a factor in this year's contest, but credited improved seed genetics, new production tactics and grower ingenuity with maintaining impressive yields.

"While participating in friendly competition, yield contest participants create and share information that shapes the future of the industry," said Roger Zylstra, chair of NCGA's Stewardship Action Team, in a press release. "Contest winners, at the state and national levels, find innovative ways to help their fellow farmers excel in a variety of situations."

Here are the national winners in each category:


Heath Cutrell, Chesapeake, North Carolina, DEKALB DKC65-20: 360.8 bpa

George Cutrell, Chesapeake, Virginia, DEKALB DKC67-44: 324.9 bpa

Jason Greenwell, Waverly, Kentucky, Channel 218-44VT2PRIB: 319.7 bpa


Kevin Kalb, Dubois, Indiana, DEKALB DKC67-44RIB: 388.1 bpa

Jerry Reinhart, Sadorus, Illinois, DEKALB DKC64-34RIB: 345.6 bpa

Nikia Kalb, Dubois, Indiana, DEKALB DKC67-44RIB: 343.2 bpa


Drew Haines, Middletown, Maryland, DEKALB DKC60-88RIB: 366.3 bpa

Bruce Huber, Berlin, North Dakota, DEKALB DKC44-15RIB:299.8 bpa

William Davis, Sparta, Tennessee, AgriGold A6499 STX: 296.7 bpa


Shawn Kalb, Dubois, Indiana, DEKALB DKC70-27RIB: 343.0 bpa

John Ruff, Monona, Iowa, Pioneer P1366AM: 333.1 bpa

Brad Wehr, Jasper, Indiana, DEKALB DKC67-44RIB: 331.1 bpa


Nolan Mills, Boardman, Oregon, Pioneer P1366AM: 360.3 bpa

Roger Danz, Mesa, Washington, Pioneer P0801AM: 354.3 bpa

Dean Harris, Umatilla, Oregon, Pioneer P0801AM: 343.3 bpa


Don Stall, Charlotte, Michigan, Pioneer P0574AM: 477.7 bpa

Mike Moyle, Star, Idaho, Pioneer P1105AM: 351.2 bpa

Tommy & Valerie Cartrite, Sunray, Texas, Pioneer P1828AM: 350.6 bpa

(Categories marked AA are open to producers from Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin. Categories marked A are open to producers from all other states. Categories without A or AA are open to all producers).

For a list of the 2018 state winners, follow this link:…

For more information on the contest, its rules, and past winners, see the NCGA website here:…

Emily Unglesbee can be reached at

Follow her on Twitter @Emily_Unglesbee


Emily Unglesbee