NCGA Announces Yield Contest Winners

Hula Sets New World Corn Yield Record of 542.27 BPA

Russ Quinn
By  Russ Quinn , DTN Staff Reporter
Connect with Russ:
The National Corn Growers Association on Monday announced the winners of its 2017 National Corn Yield Contest. (Logos courtesy of the National Corn Growers Association)

OMAHA (DTN) -- The National Corn Growers Association on Monday announced the winners of its 2017 National Corn Yield Contest.

Repeating as yield champion in the no-till/strip-till irrigated category was David Hula of Charles City, Virginia. His yield of 542.27040 bushels per acre (bpa) is a new world record, according to NCGA.

The 18 winners in six production categories had verified yields averaging more than 386 bushels per acre, compared to the projected national average of 175.4 bushels per acre in 2017. While there is no overall winner in the contest, the highest yield out of all categories topped out at Hula's 542.2740 bpa.

Improved seed varieties, advanced production techniques and innovative growing practices have come together to help corn growers achieve ever-higher yields, according to NCGA. Five national entries surpassed the 400-plus bpa mark.

"The contest provides farmers more than just an opportunity for friendly competition; it generates data that impacts future production practices across the industry," said Roger Zylstra, chair of the NCGA's Stewardship Action Team.

"The techniques first developed by contest winners grow into far-reaching advances, helping farmers across the country excel in a variety of situations," Zylstra said. "Our contest emphasizes innovation both from growers and technology providers, thus enabling us to meet the growing demand for food, feed, fuel and fiber."

For more than half a century, NCGA's National Corn Yield Contest has provided corn growers the opportunity to compete with their colleagues to grow the most corn per acre, helping feed and fuel the world.

Winners receive national recognition in publications such as NCYC Corn Yield Guide, as well as cash trips or other awards from participating sponsoring seed, chemical and crop protection companies. The winners will also be honored during Commodity Classic 2018 in Anaheim, California.

Here are the top three finishers in each of the six national categories, hybrid brand, number and their yields:


1. Dan Gause Scranton, South Carolina, Pioneer P2089YHR 357.0621 bpa

2. Drew Haines Middletown, Maryland, DEKALB DKC62-20RIB 341.6354 bpa

3. William Thomas Cades, South Carolina, Pioneer P1775YHR 339.0995 bpa


1. Kevin Kalb Dubois, Indiana, DEKALB DKC66-74RIB 386.1630 bpa

2. Jeannie Linneweber Vincennes, Indiana, Pioneer P1479AM 347.5034 bpa

3. Donald Waters Cumberland, Iowa, DEKALB DKC63-35RIB 343.2731 bpa


1. John Gause Scranton, South Carolina, Pioneer P2160YHR 353.5796 bpa

2. Marvin and Glenn Wiles Plattsmouth, Nebraska, DEKALB DKC64-35RIB 351.2551 bpa

3. Daniel Gause Scranton, South Carolina, Pioneer P2160YHR 336.2386 bpa


1. Shawn Kalb Dubois, Indiana, DEKALB DKC68-26RIB 354.1344 bpa

2. Robert Little Hebron, Indiana, Pioneer P1366AM 338.6089 bpa

3. Faith Little Hebron, Indiana, Pioneer P1197AM 322.7161 bpa


1. David Hula Charles City, Virginia, Pioneer P1197AM 542.2740 bpa

2. Craig Hula Charles City, Virginia, DEKALB DKC67-44RIB 529.1376 bpa

3. Johnny Hula Charles City, Virginia, Progeny PGY5115VT2P 504.6890 bpa


1. Don Stall Charlotte, Michigan, Pioneer P0574AM 407.2162 bpa

2. Randy Dowdy Valdosta, Georgia, AgriGold A6499 STX 406.0646 bpa

3. Bridget Dowdy Valdosta, Georgia, AgriGold A6499 STX 389.0021 bpa

Please visit the NCGA's website for a complete list of national and state winners.

Russ Quinn can be reached at

Follow Russ Quinn on Twitter @RussQuinnDTN


Russ Quinn