Looking for Two Good Views

Volunteers Needed for DTN's View From the Cab

2015 DTN View From the Cab participants Lane Robinson and Leon Kriesel. (DTN photo illustration by Nick Scalise)

OMAHA (DTN) -- When a person, program or business enterprise has been around long enough to make a difference, it is sometimes referred to as an institution.

In my mind, DTN has been around long enough and had enough influence to merit this moniker. And, within DTN itself, there are other "institutions."

There is the DTN/Progressive Farmer Ag Summit, spearheaded each year by DTN Executive Editor Marcia Zarley Taylor, which just wound up its ninth annual occurrence in December 2015.

Without getting into age specifics, I would label DTN Senior Ag Meteorologist Bryce Anderson and DTN Livestock Analyst John Harrington as DTN institutions. There are others in the newsroom approaching institution status, but these two gentlemen have been at DTN the longest.

In the flow of news we provide to readers, there are other institutions. The morning Early Word Opening market comments; the Before the Bell market comments; the marketing column Newsom on the Market, which DTN Senior Analyst Darin Newsom has written for 12 years; and my personal favorite, View From the Cab.

View From the Cab was dreamed up in 2005 to provide weekly updates on what was going on at two farm operations. Over the years we tweaked the focus, trying to find livestock operations, wheat growers, produce growers, southern producers, young producers. And we asked for volunteers.

We're at that point again. We're looking for two good farmers who want to be featured in 2016.

Here's a list of those who have participated since the beginning. View From was written by DTN Staff Reporter Russ Quinn from 2005 to 2007. In 2008 DTN Special Correspondent and subscriber Richard Oswald took over the reporting and writing duties.

View From the Cab featured farmers have been:

2015: Lane Robinson, Cromwell, Indiana; Leon Kriesel, Gurley, Nebraska

2014: Karen and Bill Johnson, Avoca, Iowa; Jamie Harris, Madison, Florida

2013: William "Shep" Sheppard, Louisiana, Missouri; Kane Bercaw, Union City, Michigan

2012: Katie Sanger Hancock, Water Valley, Kentucky; Ryan Brodersen, Randolph, Nebraska

2011: Tom Tibbits, Minneapolis, Kansas; David Brandt, Carroll, Ohio

2010: Becton Bell, Wilson, Arkansas; Frank Zweber, Hoven, S.D.

2009: Marcus Hess, Bushnell, Illinois; Matt Wolle, St. James, Minnesota

2008: Dan Pedersen, Underwood, Iowa; Brad Lindstrom, Varna, Illinois

2007: Matt Rush, Fairfield, Illinois; Jason Heijl, Abbott, Texas

2006: Bob Worth, Lake Benton, Minnesota; Keith Miller, Great Bend, Kansas

2005: Richard Oswald, Langdon, Missouri; Mark Rasumssen, Hoagland, Montana.

If you'd like to join this illustrious list, send me an email at cheri.zagurski@dtn.com or call me at 1-402-399-6402 or 1-800-369-7675. There are some here who might call me a DTN "institution." But I prefer to think of myself as the grande dame.

Cheri Zagurski can be reached at cheri.zagurski@dtn.com

Follow her on Twitter @CheriZagurskiDTN