Landwatch

Farmland Sales Report

Victoria G Myers
By  Victoria G. Myers , Progressive Farmer Senior Editor
Average per acre sales prices in this month’s Landwatch column range from a low of $1,161 to a high of $8,667.

ARKANSAS, Arkansas County. A total of 323 acres, 300 in cropland, sold for $1.4 million, or an average per-acre price of $4,334. The land included all Class 1 and 2 silt loam soils, and was 100% leveled and irrigated. It had a strong production history in corn and soybeans. Contact: Cole Fields, BrokerSouth Ag Investments; cole.fields@gmail.com; 318-512-5325; www.brokersouthag.com

COLORADO, Adams, Weld and Washington counties. Bowen Arrow Ranch, a property spread over three counties and encompassing 8,735 acres, sold at auction for a total of $10.14 million. The property was offered in 26 tracts and drew 73 registered bidders, eight of those becoming buyers. Per-acre sale prices ranged from $616 for grassland in Washington County to $1,750 for dryland in Adams County. An average across the total acreage is $1,161. Buyers included area farmers and ranchers. Contact: Scott Shuman, Hall and Hall Auctions; scott@hallandhall.com; 800-829-8747; www.hallandhall.com

GEORGIA, Miller County. Farmland totaling 236.9 acres sold to an agricultural investor for $1.35 million, or about $5,698 per acre. Of that total, 203.5 acres were pivot irrigated. The land was leased back to the tenant. Contact: Gene Cook, Gene Cook and Associates Inc.; gene.cookassoc@windstream.net; 229-524-2602. (no website available)

KENTUCKY, Union County. A single tract totaling 255.5 acres sold at auction for $1.44 million, or an average per-acre price of $5,636. The land was described as second bottomland about a mile south of the Ohio River. It was purchased by an area farm-family partnership. Contact: Bill Kurtz, Kurtz Auction and Realty Co.; bill@kurtzauction.com; 800-264-1204; www.kurtzauction.com

MINNESOTA, Becker County. One parcel of farmland totaling 145 acres sold at auction for $253,750, or $1,750 per acre. The property included 121.43 Farm Service Agency acres and 33.99 Conservation Reserve Program acres. The mixed-loam soils had a weighted productivity index average of 81.1 and was available to be farmed in 2018. This sold parcel was one of six offered. Contact: Lindsey Brown, Pifer’s Land Auctions; lbrown@pifers.com; 701-371-5538; www.pifers.com

NEBRASKA, Cass County. Farmland totaling 120 acres, all tillable, sold at auction for $1.04 million, or about $8,667 per acre. The land was described as mostly Marshall silty clay loam, Class 2 and 3 soils, on a hard-surface road near development. It included corn and soybean bases. Contact: Jason Smith, DreamDirt Farm and Ranch Real Estate LLC; jason@dreamdirt.com; 712-592-8965; www.dreamdirt.com

NORTH DAKOTA, Dunn County. Two parcels of farmland totaling 317.5 acres sold at auction for $714,352, or an average per-acre price of $2,250. This was prime, low bottom cropland with an average soil productivity index of 76. The property included excellent pheasant habitat. Contact: Andy Mrnak, andy@pifers.com, 701-206-1095; or Jim Sabe, jsabe@pifers.com, Pifer’s Land Auctions; 701-523-6283; www.pifers.com

SOUTH DAKOTA, Corson County. Three parcels of cropland and pasture totaling 1,189 acres sold at auction for a total price of $2.03 million, or an average per-acre price of $1,707. Cropland totaled 761 acres, with soil-productivity indexes ranging between 82.7 and 86.4. The pasture areas included fencing, a dugout and running water. Power and a well were also available near a former homesite. Contact: Kristen Gill, kgill@pifers.com, 701-934-2732; or Alan Butts, alanb@pifers.com, Pifer’s Land Auctions; 701-400-8858; www.pifers.com

If your company has made a recent sale you’d like to submit for use in the Landwatch column, send the information to: landwatch@dtn.com

Victoria Myers