Landwatch

Farmland Sales Report

Victoria G Myers
By  Victoria G. Myers , Progressive Farmer Senior Editor
Average per acre sales in this month’s Landwatch column ranged from a low of $2,300 to a high of $9,629. (Progressive Farmer image by The Progressive Farmer)

ARKANSAS, Arkansas County. A farm totaling 323 acres sold for $1.4 million, or $4,334 per acre. The property consisted of 300 acres of leveled and irrigated cropland, all Class I and II silt loam soils, with a history of corn and soybean production. Three irrigation wells were included. Contact: Cole Fields, BrokerSouth Ag Investments; cole.fields@gmail.com; 318-512-5325; www.brokersouthag.com.

INDIANA, Benton County. A 324-acre farm, all tillable land, sold for $3.12 million, or $9,629 per acre. The property included two income-producing wind turbines. Buyers were a conservation farming investor and the tenant. Contact: Johnny Klemme, Geswein Farm and Land; johnny.klemme@gmail.com; 765-427-1619; www.EdGeswein.com.

IOWA, Webster County. In a leaseback sale, 142 acres of farmland sold to an investor for $1.19 million, or $8,380 per acre. The seller will continue to farm the property. Of the total acreage, 133.27 acres were tillable and reported at 86.6 CSR2 and 82.4 CSR1. Contact: John Kirkpatrick, Murray Wise Associates LLC; john@mwallc.com; 515-532-2878; www.murraywiseassociates.com.

KANSAS, Rawlins County. Cropland totaling 160 acres sold at auction for $360,000, or $2,250 per acre. Soils were Kuma and Keith silt loams. The land was used for wheat, corn and sunflower production. Buyer to receive 50% of the 2018 wheat crop. Contact: Donald Hazlett, Farm and Ranch Realty, Inc.; info@frrmail.com; 800-247-7863; www.farmandranchrealty.com.

MINNESOTA, Fillmore County. A prime tract of farmland totaling 73.7 acres, almost all tillable, sold for $589,600, or $8,000 per acre. The land was level to gently sloping, included no waterways, was pattern-tiled on 40-inch centers and had a crop productivity index of 93.1. This is a high-demand area, where cash leases are competitive. Contact: Kevin Green, Land Vista Real Estate LLC; kevingreen@landvista.com; 952-292-2370; www.landvista.com.

NORTH DAKOTA, Mercer County. Three parcels of cropland with a farmstead sold at auction to one buyer for $1.31 million, or an average of $3,306 per acre. Parcels totaled 396.23 acres, with soil productivity indexes across the parcels averaging 87.9. to 92.1 The property included bases for wheat, corn, barley and peas. Contact: Kristen Gill, kgill@pifers.com, 701-934-2732; or Alan Butts, alanb@pifers.com; 701-400-8858; Pifer’s Land Auctions; www.pifers.com.

OKLAHOMA, Caddo County. Cropland totaling 157 acres, with highway frontage and a center pivot, sold for $509,000, or $3,242 per acre. Contact: Allen Entz, Entz Auction and Real Estate; allen@entzauction.com; 405-663-2200; www.entzauction.com.

OKLAHOMA, Payne County. Fourteen tracts of land totaling 1,100 acres sold for $2.53 million, or $2,300 per acre. The property included grass, timber, ponds, hunting land, a cattle operation and building sites. There were multiple buyers. Contact: Troy Lippard, Lippard Auctioneers Inc.; troy@lippardauctions.com;
580-747-6747; www.lippardauctions.com.

SOUTH DAKOTA, McPherson County. Seven parcels of cropland totaling 1,520 acres sold at auction for $4.3 million. Average sales prices by parcel ranged from $1,225 to $3,200. Overall average for the sale was $2,829 per acre, which included a grain bin site that sold for $14,000. Two buyers purchased the parcels. Contact: Bob Pifer, bob@pifers.com, 701-371-8538; or Kevin Pifer, kpifer@pifers.com; 701-238-5810; Pifer’s Land Auctions; www.pifers.com.

If your company has made a recent sale you’d like to submit for use in the Landwatch column, send the information to: landwatch@dtn.com

(ES/CZ)

Victoria Myers